Image of the PJM Medal
Banner Text = Fight For the Right to Wear the Pingat Jasa Malaysia Medal
Reply to topic Page 1 of 1
Pre and Post 1957 - Why is the PJM only for 1957 and after?
Post Pre and Post 1957 - Why is the PJM only for 1957 and after? 
I am new at this and so please tell me if I am out of order. But I want to raise a question that has been put to me. Why is the PJM only for service after 31st August 1957?

The answer I have given is that Malaysia only came into being as an independent nation on that date and therefore they have no jurisdiction to present a medal for anything that happened before. Am I right?

Then there is another point that concerns me which I think also underlines the two periods of service. Service between 1948 and 1957 was in respect of service for the British Colonial power protecting its interests and, towards the end of that time when the UK could no longer afford 'Malaya', that service was in respect of supporting the Colonial power's exit strategy so that in 1957 it could exit on its terms and not those of others.

Surely that service was specifically for Britain in protecting British colonial interests.

As I understand it, the Pingat Jasa Malaysia is quite different. I thought it was for protecting the independence of the newly independent state of Malaysia. It has nothoing whatsoever to do with Britain.

For me, therefore, there is not a subtle difference between pre-August 1957 and post-August 1957, it is fundamental. The PJM is a medal specifically for service in protecting the newly independent Malaysia (as defined on the Citation) and so all that crap from the HD Committee and the Ministerial Statement about double-medalling is exactly that - crap designed to stop ordinary people like me wearing a medal I earned.